Apple’s ‘Lockdown’ mode on iOS 16: Here’s how to activate it | Technology News

New Delhi: Last week, Apple began rolling out the latest iOS 16 software update to millions of iPhones, coinciding with the global release of the iPhone 14 series. iOS 16 introduces several new features, including an interactive lock screen and the ability to edit sent iMessages. recently and unsend it. However, while many of the new features introduced with iOS 16 are not intended for users, a new security feature called “Lockdown” mode provides additional protection for owners of Apple devices who may be vulnerable to targeted cyber attacks. But what exactly is the new iPhone lock mode, and what does it do to protect users from electronic spy gadgets like Pegasus?

Apple has always touted its iPhones as the most secure gadget in the world, and still does so today. However, last year a group of journalists published Project Pegasus, which revealed that the Pegasus spyware from the Israel-based NSO Group may have targeted more than 30,000 human rights activists, journalists and lawyers around the world, including in India. .

The malware targeted users with a number of exploits, including many zero-click iOS, and did not save iPhones. Pegasus enables users to remotely access the contents of the phone, hack the camera and microphone, and access calls, location data, photos and messages without the victim’s knowledge or even the victim clicking on a link.

Pegasus was used to hack a Jordanian journalist’s iPhone in December, according to a new report released earlier this year. A few weeks after Apple filed a lawsuit against an Israeli company in an attempt to harm its customers, the hack occurred.

The Pegasus investigation shows that iPhones – or any other “connected” device – are not entirely secure and can be hacked.

Apple unveiled a new “Lockdown” mode feature as part of iOS 16 at the Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC) in June, despite the fact that the company is still embroiled in a legal dispute with the NSO Group.

Lock mode is a security feature that provides an extra layer of security for users who are at risk of being targeted by Pegasus and other sophisticated advanced spyware. It’s now available with iOS 16 and will launch on iPad and Mac later this year. Many iPhone features are disabled when Lockdown is activated, which Apple refers to as “extreme,” as a trade-off for this security feature.

For example, when users turn off link previews in text messages while lock mode is temporarily enabled on their phones, it masks the person’s identity by obtaining their IP addresses. Users can still copy and paste the website address into their browser because the feature only prevents link previews, not the actual link. Lock mode also turns off some Safari features that may have an effect on certain websites.

It is possible that some of the complex web technologies in your browser, such as web-based fonts and timely translators that speed up website loading, will not render correctly or not load at all. You will notice that if the user has not already called or requested FaceTime from the initiator, you will not be able to receive FaceTime calls from contacts when Lockdown mode is activated. While Lock Mode is active, you won’t receive invitations to use Apple services like calendars and notes from people you haven’t spoken to before.

Users can enable Lock Mode on their iPhones running iOS 16, which is released and available for free download if they think they might be the target of a spyware attack. The Privacy and Security section of the Settings app is where you’ll find Lock Mode. When users choose lock mode, iPhone restarts and some features are disabled. When Safari opens, Lockdown Enabled should be visible at the top of the page, indicating that Lockdown Mode is activated. You can disable the lock mode through the settings menu if you wish to do so, as this option is a temporary way to disable iPhone features that hackers may take advantage of.

Leave a Comment